Giving back to our community is important to us, especially when it comes to our future leaders and innovators. We are delighted to announce the recipients of this year’s Allen T. Johnson Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship encourages local students’ interest in aviation, and even introduces the idea of pursuing it as a career. Two-thirds of our annual HobbyFest event sponsorships and cash donations go toward this scholarship fund.

This year we were proud to award $12,500 in scholarships to local high school and college students. We had the pleasure of having Council Member Amanda Edwards there to announce the winners and hand out scholarship checks. We can’t wait to see what these extraordinary young scholars achieve in the future.

Here are this year’s winners of the Allen T. Johnson Memorial Scholarship and their respective schools, listed in alphabetical order:

Olanrewaju Aderinto—Texas Southern University

Ernest Appiah—Texas Southern University

Pedro Castillo—Klein Forest High School

Cindy Castillo—University of Houston

Nathanael Humes—Texas Southern University

Alexander Jacobs—St.Thomas High School

Olajumoke “Lizzy” Omosebi—Texas Southern University

Olu Wellington—Texas Southern University