MINUTES OF MEETING HARRIS COUNTY IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT NO. 9 (HOBBY AREA MANAGEMENT DISTRICT) CITY OF HOUSTON, TEXAS

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

January 9, 2014

Determine Quorum and Call Meeting to Order.

The Board of Directors of the Harris County Improvement District No. 9 (Hobby Area Management District) held a regular meeting on Thursday, January 9, 2014, at 12:00 noon at the Hobby Airport Double Tree Hotel, 8181 Airport Boulevard, Houston, TX 77061, inside the boundaries of the District and open to the public. Chairman Perkins called the meeting to order at 12:05 p.m. and the roll was called of the duly-appointed members of the Board, to wit:

Position 1- Danny Perkins, Chairman	Position 7 – Marjorie Evans
Position 2 – Helen Bonsall, Vice Chair	Position 8 – Joann Lemon
Position 3 – Todd Szilagyi	Position 9 – Darryl Bailey
Position 4 – Perry J. Miller	Position 10 – Vic J. Zachary
Position 5 – Ann Collum	Position 11 – vacant
Position 6 – Sue De Haven, Sec'y	

and all of the above were present, thus constituting a quorum. Also in attendance were Jeff Sonnheim, Equi-Tax, Inc.; David Hawes, Josh Hawes, Gretchen Larson and Susan Hill, Hawes Hill Calderon, L.L.P.; and Clark Lord, Bracewell & Giuliani, L.L.P.

Accept Oath of Office, Sworn Statement and Bonds for newly appointed board members.

Directors Szilagyi, Miller and Zachary presented their written oaths of office, sworn statements and bonds. Director Collum moved to accept them as presented; Director De Haven seconded. The board voted unanimously to approve the motion. Chairman Perkins asked board members to introduce themselves and identify their affiliations.

Receive orientation on Texas laws and statutes regarding open meetings, public records and similar matters.

At this point the board viewed an hour-long video training session on the Texas Public Information Act ("TPIA") in order to satisfy the statutory requirement for elected and appointed officials.

Receive public comments.

There were no public comments.

Minutes of meeting held November 14, 2013.

Upon a motion duly made by Director Bonsall and being seconded by Director De Haven, the Board voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the November 14, 2013, meeting.

Receive report from Equi-Tax, Inc., regarding assessment collections.

Mr. Sonnheim reviewed the Assessment Collection Report for November 2013, noting that the District has received \$301,404.33 to date, which represents approximately 22% of the billed amount. No action from the board was required.

Review and approve request for qualifications for a certified public accounting firm experienced in government accounting principles to provide bookkeeping services for the District.

Mr. Hawes went over the proposed request for qualifications posting and responded to comments and questions from the board. Upon motion made by Director Miller, seconded by Director De Haven, the board voted to approve the request for qualifications and authorized staff to send it to all qualified firms in the area.

Approve establishment of operating checking account at Amegy Bank and assessment depository account at Wells Fargo Bank.

Chairman Perkins presented information on his conversation with Amegy Bank representatives regarding the establishment of an operating checking account. Mr. Hawes stated that Equi-Tax Inc., uses Wells Fargo Bank to receive assessment payments as they arrive, but the funds will then be transferred to Amegy Bank if the board elects to establish an operating account there. Upon motion by Director Zachary, seconded by Director Collum, the board approved the establishment of an operating checking account at Amegy Bank and the use of Wells Fargo Bank to receive assessment collections. The board also approved the execution of a Public Funds Depositor Collateral Security Agreement with Amegy Bank National Association.

Review and approve invoices for payment.

Mr. Hawes went over the list of invoices offered for review and approval. Upon motion made by Director Bonsall, seconded by Director De Haven, the board voted unanimously to approve the invoices for payment as presented.

Discuss Service and Improvement Plan and Budget for 2014.

Mr. Hawes suggested to the board that preparing an initial plan of work and accompanying budget can best be accomplished by committees organized around the major areas of emphasis set out in the <u>Service and Improvement Plan</u>. To that end Chairman Perkins devised a list of working committees with his proposed chairs and members to develop strategies and goals for programs and projects. A copy of the list is attached to these minutes as Exhibit A. Mr. Hawes also stated that members of the Hawes Hill Calderón staff have been assigned to assist the committees and the board. He

introduced Gretchen Larson, who will assist the District as Director of Marketing and Business Development, and Josh Hawes, who will serve as the District's Director of Services and Public Safety. Director Collum said that several property owners in the District have expressed an interest in serving on committees. Chairman Perkins asked her to send their names to him for appointment consideration. Ms. Larson presented a brief overview of certain marketing support functions. Mr. Hawes concluded with an explanation of the "Information" section in the board's agenda materials.

Adjourn.

There being no further business to come before the Board, Chairman Perkins adjourned the meeting at 2:00 p.m.



Secretary

(SEAL)

List of Exhibits:

Exhibit A

HAMD Committees and Members [as of Oct 2013]

AS of Oct 2013

HAMD Committees and Members

Public Safety & Security

Helen Bonsall, Chair Todd Szilagyi Marjorie Evans

Environmental & Urban Design Committee

Ann Collum, Chair JoAnn Lemon Sue DeHaven Joe Nelson (Non-Board Member)

Mobility & Transportation Committee

Perry Miller, Chair Darryl Bailey Helen Bonsall

Economic & Business Development Committee

Danny R. Perkins, Chair

Perry Miller Vic Zachary George Davis (Non-Board Member)

Chamber of Commerce Advisory Committee

Danny R. Perkins, Chair
Perry Miller
Ann Collum
Sue DeHaven
Joe Nelson
Roxanna Ramirez
George Davis (Non-Board Member)

HAMD Committees and Members

Public Safety & Security

Helen Bonsall, Chair Todd Szilagyi Marjorie Evans

Environmental & Urban Design Committee

Ann Collum, Chair Jo Ann Lemon Sue DeHaven Joe Nelson (Non-Board Member)

Mobility & Transportation Committee

Perry Miller, Chair Darryl Bailey Helen Bonsall

Economic & Business Development Committee

Danny R. Perkins, Chair
Perry Miller
Vic Zachary
George Davis (Non-Board Member)

Chamber of Commerce Advisory Committee

Danny R. Perkins, Chair
Perry Miller
Ann Collum
Sue DeHaven
Joe Nelson
Roxanna Ramirez
George Davis (Non-Board Member)